Nehru-Gandhi family has been the President of Congress for 41 years in 75 years, this is the journey of Congress after independence.

Congress Presidents Since 1947: After independence, Congress was the largest party in the country. There was a time when this party had no competition for decades. However, now questions are being raised about the condition of Congress. Many big leaders have left the party and joined the BJP. Along with this, the election of the Congress President is in the headlines these days.

If we talk about the position of the Congress President from 1947 till now, then in 75 years, 41 years as the Congress President of the Nehru-Gandhi family. Be a member. This is 55 percent of India’s total post-independence years. Congress had a total of five presidents from the Nehru-Gandhi family and 13 such presidents were from outside the Nehru-Gandhi family.

List of Congress presidents since 1947

< Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi have led the party for most of the time since independence. Along with this, leaders outside the Nehru-Gandhi family include JB Kripalani, B Pattabhi Seetharamaiah, Purushottam Das Tandon, Jawaharlal Nehru UN Dhebar, N Sanjeeva Reddy, K Kamaraj, S Nijalingappa, Jagjeevan Ram, Shankar Dayal Sharma, D.K. . Barua, KB Reddy, PV Narasimha Rao and Sitaram Kesari led the party.

JB Kripalani – 1947

JB Kripalani, also known as Acharya Kripalani. Kripalani was the president of the Congress when India became independent from the clutches of the British. He was involved in party affairs in many movements for the freedom of the country.

Pattabhi Sitaramayya (1948-49)

Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya in the state of Andhra Pradesh. was an Indian independence activist and political leader. He was also the first Governor of Madhya Pradesh. With the support of then Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, Sitaramaiah won the Congress President election in 1948.

Purshotham Das Tandon – 1950

Purshotham Das Tandon won the post of Congress President in 1950 against Kripalani. However, he resigned later due to differences with Nehru.

Jawaharlal Nehru (1951-54)

Under the leadership of Nehru Congress won successive state assembly elections and Lok Sabha elections. In India’s first general election in 1952, the party won an overwhelming majority, winning 364 of the 489 seats.

UN Dhebar (1955-59)

< p>Dhebar, who served as Chief Minister of Saurashtra from 1948-54, succeeded Nehru as Congress President. His tenure was for four years.

Indira Gandhi (1959, 1966-67, 1978-84)

Indira Gandhi served three consecutive terms as Congress president. Took the post of In 1960, he was replaced by Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy. However, she returned as Congress president for one year in 1966, defeating Morarji Desai with Kamaraj’s support.

During her second term, the party split into two factions. After losing the 1977 national elections following the Emergency, he assumed the post of party president and held the position until his death in 1985.

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy (1960–63) >

After Indira’s first term as Congress president ended, Reddy held the reins of the party three times.

K Kamaraj (1964-67)

K Kamaraj "the kingmaker" Also known as Kamaraj was the reason for the rise of Indira as Congress president.

S. Nijalingappa (1968-69)

He was the last president of the undivided Congress Party before the split in the Congress. Later he joined the syndicate leaders.

Jagjeevan Ram (1970-71)

Jagjeevan Ram died in 1977 after one year as Congress president. Joined the Congress Janata Party. He was the Defense Minister of India during the 1971 Indo-Pakistani War. In AICC was elected President of the Congress during the session of He also served as the President of India from 1992 to 1997.

Devkant Barua (1975-77)

Barua was the Congress President during the Emergency in the country. He was the first and only leader to hold the reins of the party from Assam.

Rajiv Gandhi (1985-91)

After the assassination of mother Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi took the reins of the party and held the position until his assassination in 1991. He gave the party a historic mandate in the 1984 Lok Sabha elections and also became the sixth Prime Minister of India.

PV Narasimha Rao (1992-96)

After announcing his retirement from politics in 1991, Rao made a comeback after Rajiv’s assassination. He was also the first Prime Minister of a non-Hindi speaking region.

Sitaram Kesari (1996-98)

Sitaram Kesari Congress succeeded Narasimha Rao in 1996. became president Many senior party leaders left the party during his presidency.

Sonia Gandhi (1998-2017 and 2019-present)

Sonia Gandhi in 1998 Took over the post of Congress president in 1998 and held the post for the longest time. After his presidency ended, Rahul Gandhi was elected to the post of president in 2017. Currently, Sonia Gandhi is holding the post of interim president of the party.

Rahul Gandhi (2017-2019)

On 11 December 2017, Rahul Gandhi was unanimously elected. Elected party president. He conducted the Vidhan Sabha Elections. However, the Congress suffered a humiliating defeat in the 2019 general elections and "the moral" Resigned from the post of president taking responsibility.


Get the more latest news about India