Karnataka Election 2023: Shock to BJP in Karnataka, left it citing corruption, joined this party

Karnataka Election 2023: Shock to BJP in Karnataka, left it citing corruption, joined this party

Karnataka Election: The ruling BJP has suffered a major setback before the Karnataka assembly elections 2023. BJP’s Legislative Council member Puttanna on Thursday (March 9) alleged massive corruption in his own government and joined the Congress. Puttanna said he has resigned from the Legislative Council and the primary membership of the BJP.

Senior leader Puttanna has been a four-time member of the Legislative Council. He has represented teachers’ constituencies in Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural and Ramanagara districts. Puttanna was re-elected to the Legislative Council in October 2020 and his term was to end in October 2026.

Resignation handed over to the Speaker of the Legislative Council
Puttanna told the media, "Today I have come to this decision and have resigned from the primary membership of BJP and the membership of the Legislative Council. I submitted my resignation to the office of the Speaker of the Legislative Council."

AICC General Secretaries @rssurjewala, KPCC President @DKShivakumar, Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly @siddaramaiah He held a joint media conference at KPCC office with Puttanna who has resigned from BJP membership and MLC position. pic.twitter.com/MF9858qxhz

— Karnataka Congress (@INCKarnataka) March 9, 2023

Corruption has spread in BJP rule 
He told the corruption spread in Karnataka behind his resignation. Accusing the BJP government, Puttanna said that it forced him to take this decision. Puttanna said, "The dream with which I had joined BJP could not materialize due to suffocation." Puttanna alleged that the government is not solving even a single problem of the public. 

Direct fight between BJP-Congress in the state
Just a few months are left for the assembly elections 2023 in Karnataka. There is a direct fight between BJP and Congress for 224 seats in the state. Where Congress is going to contest elections under the leadership of former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar. On the other hand, the main faces from BJP are former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa and Prime Minister Narendra Modi is. 

Read also: Weather Update: Warning of rain in these states including Rajasthan-Madhya Pradesh, heat will increase tension here

Get the more latest India news updates