Karnataka Election 2023: JDS has occupied all the seven seats in Mandya district, BJP’s account has not been opened till date

Karnataka: The atmosphere in the state is hot regarding the Karnataka assembly elections, all parties have entered the electoral fray with allegations and counter-allegations against each other. JD(S), a regional party in the state between BJP and Congress, is also looking for a new electoral strategy to retain its stronghold Mandya district of Karnataka. JD(S) had won all the seven seats here in 2018. Mandya district is said to be an impregnable stronghold of this party, where the JD(S) has had a monopoly for the past decade.

JD(S) should retain all seats

Janata Dal (Secular) will try its best to capture Mandya district this time too, although if we talk about Mandya constituency, there will definitely be a challenge for the party here. JD(S) has won the Mandya seat in the years 2004, 2008 and 2018, but it may face a threat from the Congress. Late actor-politician Ambareesh of Congress had managed to win from here in 2013 by defeating JDS. Whereas in the last assembly elections in 2018, Ambareesh did not contest due to his tussle with the Congress. 

A majority section of the regional party wants former CM HD Kumaraswamy to contest from the Mandya seat, but the party is carefully considering this option. On this, Kumaraswamy said that every election is different. He said, ‘We had won all the seven seats last time because our strategy was appropriate then. We should retain all the seats, so we should prepare a suitable plan.

JD(S) has had a monopoly here for a decade

BJP is also making every possible effort to make inroads in Mandya district and is turning this fight into a triangular contest. It has been learned from sources that BJP is considering fielding strong candidates in some seats from here. The party is in talks with LR Shivaram Gowda in this regard. It is being said that he can be fielded as the party’s candidate from Nagamangala seat. The party has also extended support to Sumalatha, an independent MP from Mandya and wife of late leader Ambareesh, making the contest interesting. 

Although JD(S) is not seeing much danger from BJP because till date BJP has not been able to open its account in Mandya district. Congress dominated here in the initial assembly elections but JD(S) has strengthened its hold in this district since last one decade. Let us inform that Mandya district has a total of seven assembly constituencies including Malavalli, Maddur, Melukote, Mandya, Srirangapatna, Nagamangala and Krishnarajpet, which is known as an impregnable fortress of JD(S) in the recent decade.

Read this also- Karnataka Election 2023: Cash, liquor and gold! 70 crores were brought to distribute freebies before Karnataka elections and then…

Get the more latest India news updates

Scroll to Top