Congress Presidents List: 13 Congress Presidents from outside the Gandhi family including Sitaram Kesari in 75 years, Gandhi-Nehru family for 41 years

Congress Presidents List : The process of selection of new president of Congress party is starting from today. The polling notification will be issued today on September 22. There is curiosity about who will be the president of the Congress party. Meanwhile, Congress party (Congress) gave 7 Prime Ministers to the country. After independence, the Congress party had appointed a total of 19 leaders to the post of President. Until Sonia Gandhi(Soniya Gandhi), 5 out of 19 then presidents are from Nehru-Gandhi family. Meanwhile, during the 75 years of independence, i.e. 40 years, some members of this family were on the presidency. At the same time, since 1998 Sonia Gandhi or Rahul Gandhi from the Gandhi family has been the President. Know about Congress presidents who were not from the Nehru-Gandhi family.

Pattabhi Sitaramayya

1948-1949 : Pattabhi Sitaramayya was the leader of independent India. He was the first President of the Congress Party. He was elected as the party chief in the Jaipur convention. In 1930 he was arrested by leading volunteers on a beach near Masulipatnam in Andhra Pradesh for making salt in violation of the Salt Act.

Purushottam Das Tandon

1950 : Purushottam Das Tandon became the second president of Congress in 1950. He presided over the Nashik convention. He played a major role in making Hindi the national language of India. He was also awarded Bharat Ratna.

Indira Gandhi 

1959, 1966-67, 1978-84 : Indira Gandhi He held the post of Congress president for three consecutive terms. He was replaced by Neelam Sanjeev Reddy in 1960. In 1966 she defeated Morarji Desai with Kamaraj’s support and returned as Congress president for one year.

Neelam Sanjeev Reddy

1960-1963 :< /strong> A prominent leader from Andhra Pradesh, Neelam Sanjeev Reddy was the president of the Congress from 1960-1963. She was the sixth President of India from 1977 to 1982. He also contributed in the freedom struggle. In 1931, he left his college to take part in the civil disobedience movement.

K Kamaraj
1964-1967: K Kamaraj from 1964 to 1967 He was the President of Congress. He was called ‘Kingmaker’ in Indian politics. He has also been honored with the Bharat Ratna Award.

S Siddavanalli Nijlingappa
1968-1969 : S Siddavanalli Nijlingappa, who played a major role in the unification of Karnataka. and the first Chief Minister of the state, took over as Congress President in 1968-69. Interestingly, when the Congress split, it was he who supported the organization’s front against the faction led by Indira Gandhi.

Jagjivan Ram
1970-1971 :

strong> Jagjivan Ram is also known as Babuji. On 25 June 1975, Justice Sinha of the Allahabad High Court bench ruled that Indira Gandhi’s election from Rae Bareli was disqualified. Jagjivan Ram supported Indira Gandhi during this difficult time. He is also called the problem solver of the Congress party. He was the leader of the backward classes, untouchables and oppressed labourers.

Shankardayal Sharma
1972-1974 : Former President of India and Congress Leader Shankar Dayal Sharma served as Congress president for four years. He was active in Gandhiji’s Quit India Movement in 1942. In 1971 Dr. Sharma was elected to the Lok Sabha and became the country’s Minister of Communications. During this period he worked as Congress President during Emergency. He is known for his statement ‘India is Indira, Indira is India’. He was loyal to the Gandhi family, but later joined the anti-Indira faction after the Congress split.

P.V. Narasimha Rao

1992-96: Congress leader PV Narasimha Rao was the Congress President from 1992 to 1996. PV Narasimha Rao was a freedom fighter, lawyer, fluent in 17 languages, economist, foreign policy expert and highly skilled politician. He was one of the Prime Ministers of the country who was suddenly made Prime Minister without any prior expectations.

Sitaram Kesari
1996-1998 : Sitaram Kesari became the President of the Congress Party in 1996. Sitaram Kesari joined the freedom movement in Bihar at the age of 13 and eventually became a youth leader of his state. Sitaram Keshari, a native of Bihar, was the President of the Congress and there was a popular saying about him, ‘Na Khata Na Bahi, Jo Kesari Kahe Wahi Sahi’.

Sonia Gandhi 

1998-2017 and 2019-Present : Sonia Gandhi took over as the Congress President in 1998 and is the longest serving president. Rahul Gandhi was elected as President in 2017 after his presidency ended. Currently Sonia Gandhi is holding the post of Interim President of the party.

Rahul Gandhi 

2017-2019 : 2019 In the general elections of 2008, the Congress was badly defeated and Rahul Gandhi "Moral" Resigned from the post of president taking responsibility. On 11 December 2017, Rahul Gandhi was unanimously elected as the party president. He led the party to victory in Karnataka, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh assembly elections in 2018. 

Gehlot ready for president post after meeting with Sonia Gandhi?

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot (Ashok Gehlot) on Wednesday



Get the more latest India news updates