After Rajasthan, Delhi, Chhattisgarh Congress also passed a resolution, demanding Rahul Gandhi as president

Congress President Election: Gandhi, being the Congress leader, is currently busy with the party’s Bharat Jodo Yatra. In this way, the demand to make him the president again has started gaining strength in the party. After Rajasthan and Delhi State Committees, Chhattisgarh Congress today also passed a resolution to make Rahul Gandhi the party president. The resolution was also passed in Jaipur and Delhi on Saturday. This latest strategy of Congress to persuade Rahul Gandhi was first reported by ABP News. The State Congress Committee has also empowered future Congress Presidents to appoint State Presidents, Treasurers and representatives in the AICC. Both the resolutions were passed unanimously in a meeting held at the party’s state headquarters, Rajiv Bhawan. After the meeting, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel said that he has proposed to make Rahul Gandhi the national president.

Bhupesh Baghel said that I have proposed to reinstate Rahul Gandhi as the President of All India Congress Committee. It has been proposed that Rahul Gandhi should be made the President of AICC. Mohan Markam proposed to authorize the AICC delegation, State President, Treasurer and President of the All India Congress Committee to form the Executive Committee. This too was supported and both resolutions were passed unanimously.

A proposal was also made by the Rajasthan Congress Committee 

Bhapesh Baghel said that president Mohan Markam has been given the responsibility to take the proposal to All India Congress Committee (AICC) returning officer Madhusudan Mistry. He said that the proposal to make Rahul Gandhi the president has come from the Rajasthan Congress Committee. Chhattisgarh is the second state from where this proposal is going. Such proposals are also likely to come from committees in other states. If this happens, Rahul Gandhi will have to consider taking over the presidency.

A different role for G-23 leaders?

Though the filing of nomination papers for the election of the President has started in the Congress, the turmoil within the party still does not seem to calm down. Apart from Congress MP Shashi Tharoor, there are talks of G-23 leaders like Manish Tiwari, Anand Sharma and Bhupendra Hooda contesting for the post of party president. However, according to the election program announced by the Congress, after the notification of the election of the party president on September 22, nominations can be filed from September 24. If there is more than one candidate, the voting will be held on October 17.

Get the more latest India news updates